The VGAs, or better known as the Videogames Awards 2011 was on last night (saturday) and knowing what a hardcore – gamer I really am (not) I had to watch it.

I have to admit, I’ve never even heard of, let alone watched the videogame awards until last night! I was mildly surprised by the size of the audience this ceremony had. They were even able to hire Charlie Sheen and Hulk Hogan to present some awards (not that I approve of either of those characters). The nominees weren’t surprising to me at all, however. Uncharted 3 Drake’s Deception, Assassins Creed and Batman Arkham City were among the top nominees. They even had top “videogame Character” of the year awards. Nominees for that were The Joker, P.body (portal 2) and Nathan Drake (Drake’s Deception). Each of their little nominated videos were cute and funny.

 Not only were awards handed out, but we saw world premier trailers for new and upcoming games such as Metal Gear Rising, American Nightmare, and an especially interesting one called The Last of Us. So interesting in fact, I’ll share the trailer with you:

_____________________________________________________________

_____________________________________________________________
I could have sworn that was Ellen Page raiding dead bodies there. Anyways, at the end of the day the best award, videogame of the year, went out to Batman Arkham City. the Batman game also won best action/adventure game of the year. Call of Duty Modern Warfare 3 won best shooter,  Joker won Character of the year and the latest Legend of Zelda was inducted into the videogame hall of fame as the first game there. I think everything was pretty fair except for the lack of Assassin’s Creed awards! I don’t believe they won anything… oh well.

Leave a Reply

